Ingrid Scheffer, MD

Dr Ingrid Scheffer

Dr Ingrid Scheffer

Address: Epilepsy Research Centre


Academic Appointments:
NHMRC Practitioner Fellow 2001-2005
Associate Professor, University of Melbourne 2001-2005
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Paediatrics, University of Melbourne 2005-
Chair of Paediatric Neurology Research, University of Melbourne 2005-

Clinical Appointments
Paediatric Neurologist and Epileptologist
Neurosciences, Monash Medical Centre, Clayton, Victoria
Department of Neurology, Royal Children’s Hospital, Parkville, Victoria
Director of Paediatrics, Austin Health, Heidelberg, Victoria
Co-Director, Children’s Epilepsy Program, Austin Health, Heidelberg, Victoria

Academic Qualifications
MB BS Monash University, 1983
FRACP Royal Australasian College of Physicians, 1992
PhD University of Melbourne, 1998

Postgraduate Fellowships and Awards
2007 American Epilepsy Society Research Recognition Award for Clinical Research This award recognises an outstanding contribution to clinical research in epilepsy at an international level.
2006- Honorary Research Fellow, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute.
2005- Honorary Fellow of Genetic Health Services This award from the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute recognises contributions to promoting Genetic Health.
2001-2005 NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship Inaugural career research fellowship for outstanding clinician researcher allowing 50% research and 50% clinical commitment over five years.
2003 National Association of Research Fellows of NHMRC Post-Doctoral Investigator Award This award recognises outstanding independent research achievement during the first five years after receiving a research doctorate.
2002-2010 NHMRC Program Grant Chief Investigator
1999 Chancellor’s Prize, the University of Melbourne
Harbison-Higinbotham Research Scholarship, The University of Melbourne The Chancellor’s Prize and the Harbison-Higinbotham Research Scholarship are awarded by the Chancellor of The University of Melbourne for excellence in the PhD thesis. This thesis was recognised as the most outstanding PhD in the medical sciences at the university in 1998.
1998 Commendation for Premier’s Award for Medical Research This award is one of four awarded by the Premier of Victoria in recognition of an outstanding contribution to medical research during a PhD thesis.
1993 American Epilepsy Society Junior Investigator Award, Miami, USA
1992 Ciba-Geigy Epilepsy Fellowship, Austin & Repatriation Medical Centre, Melbourne
1992-1994 NHMRC Medical Postgraduate Scholar